#10 Most Impressive Dynasty: the Sui

Loyal Fans of the Great Yan Xishan,

Over the next few weeks I will be giving a ten-part lecture for the JPA. Some of these fierce yet feminine warriors have requested that some of the information from the lectures be put online, so that they might get their study on while also downloading Hello Kitty decals to attach to their standard-issue fenjiu dispensers. I have agreed, in part so that I might educate you, the misinformed reader.

My goal in these lectures to help my rank-and-file better understand what Yan Xishan is all about. You see, I am not just here to have sex with my multi-ethnic entourage of working girls or to constantly remind Mao Zedong about all of his dead wives and missing children. No, Yan Xishan has an even loftier goal–to bring order and prosperity to China (and eventually the world, just like that punk Zhu Xi formulated). So I will take the JPA–and you lucky readers as well–through a tour of the Chinese past so that everyone will understand just what makes a great ruling house.

Enough foreplay, lets do the dirty.

#10 Most Impressive Dynasty: the Sui

It never ceases to amaze me that many otherwise educated Chinese have never heard of the Sui. Sure, most laowais do not know what the Sui was or what they were about, but that is to be expected: they are laowais and therefore stupid, if not in fact smelly. Perhaps the failure of knowledge that marks my countrymen stems from the fact that the Sui dynasty was rather short lived (581-618), as well as the fact that the dynasty was rather small. Check the map:

Sui Map

Shit, that is just embarrassing. Plus the founder of the Sui, Yang Jian (also known as Emperor Wen) was kind of a pussy. I know that you might not believe this, but he was monogamous! That meant he only had sex with one woman! And that woman was his wife! What is the point of being the Son of Heaven if you can only screw one woman?

But there were things about the Sui that can be emulated. You see, Yang Jian was not afraid to get his hands dirty and get involved in lives of his subjects. For an activist ruler such as myself, he makes a good model. He reformed the military. He also removed the dreaded “nine ranks” and made office holding non-hereditary. As you should know, I myself went from “rags to riches” (and bitches) so you know I love this. He also employed the “well-field system” to organize land holdings among the peasants. Normally I would not be big on anything promoted by “momma’s boy Mencius” but I find this system intriguing. I am using it with my poppy fields. Wait, did I say poppy? I meant sorghum. In any case, I am using a modified system. Instead of the nine shares for the peasants, one share for the ruler, we are switching it up so I get nine. I smoke way more sorghum then they do anyway.

But we as we learn from the Sui, we also learn from their mistakes. You see, the Sui went a bit too far with the whole activism thing under Emperor Wen’s son. First there was the Grand Canal–that must have seemed like a great idea until the peasant rebellions. Then there was the invasion of Korea… Damn those pesky 高丽膀子 !

So there is much to learn from the Sui. If there is one lesson I will hold close to the heart, it is not to just have one wife. Have many. And do not take the “Maoist” approach of having your wife killed off by the KMT so you can get a new one. Have many at one time! If we learn anything from Chinese history, I hope that we learn this.

YXS

6 Responses to #10 Most Impressive Dynasty: the Sui

  1. 李世民 says:

    Let’s count the dynasties worth remembering:
    There’s Chou, Han, Sui, Tang, Yuen, Ming, Ching.
    Do we have 10 yet? No?
    We’d be damned if we should bother with all the other civil war fragmented pieces along the way.
    Why don’t we just settle for the top 7 dynasties?

  2. 李世民 says:

    btw, glad to hear that Shanxi is still relevant.
    It was my old stomping grounds way back when. My dad was governor of Taiyuan, when he wasn’t busy doing the hanky-panky with his Sui boss’ concubines. That secret allowed me to blackmail him, to get him to move on to bigger and better things.

  3. Yan Xishan says:

    李世民:

    Great to hear from a great Shanxi brother! Do not fret, there will indeed be 10 dynasties worthy of inclusion of the list. I hope you have seen the some of my other posts on Shanxi greats such as Judge Dee.

    YXS

  4. Smarts says:

    What about the Shang, Qin, and Han dynastys?

  5. Yan Xishan says:

    Hey “Smarts”:

    Use your superior intellect and do a bit of searching: you will find Shang and Han dynasties have already been covered on this blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

