The Struggle Spreads!

Loyalists:

Sometimes it is hard to tell what is going on from an odd photo, especially one that is randomly transmitted to me on the “internet.” Here is what was delivered to me this morning as I was recovering from yet another all-night fenjiu binge:

What is going on here? It is clearly a Commie style douzhenghui, made famous in various campaigns organized by my would-be-rival, Mao Zedong. For those of you not in the know, a douzhenghui is a “struggle meeting,” used to convince an upstanding landlord to hand over his water buffalo and wife to some debt ridden peasant.

But usually a douzhenghui takes place in some backwater, Buddha-forsaken village where the only idea of industry is a far-fetched dream of building a brick making “factory.” Clearly this photo is not of the nongcun, as these are no peasants–they are dressed in cloths that would make your average Taiyuan citizen scream out in envy. And note the electric lighting and the confused looking foreigner… this is not even China, our great motherland!

Yes, the struggle has spread to the West. And this has caused me to pause and ponder the ramifications of this odd turn of events. On one hand, I am a famed anti-Communist. Seeing the wife-stealing mass mobilization techniques of “Mao Zhu” gain traction world-wide makes me ill. But I am also a nationalist, and the thought of my proud Chinese brothers and sisters raising their angry fists in the imperialists’ metropole brings a smile to my face.

After reflection, I have decided I can only give a halfhearted acceptance to the actions of those above. Are they demanding rent reduction, or their own land? I cannot tell. But I can tell they are struggling a poor Chinese girl–and unless she is being told she must join the JPA, that is just not acceptable. Especially when the true struggle object, the hapless looking laowai, is right behind them!

YXS

Edit: One of my readers (thanks Jonas) has identified this photo as having something to do with a debate over Tibet. I am clueless as to what the debate might be, it has been some time since I was in the land of the yak. You can read about my visit with the Dalai Lama here and about my subsequent flight from Tibet here.

5 Responses to The Struggle Spreads!

  1. Chris R says:

    So where is the photo from?

  2. Jonas says:

    Yan you crazy bastard.

    Chris, the photo is from that recent Tibet protest at Duke, they are yelling at Grace Wang. I think her name is Grace Wang, but I think most Chinese women are named Grace Wang.

    Oh yeah, FREE TIBET MUTHAFUCKAS!

  3. Chou Tofu says:

    They should really get more attractive Chinese people to represent the Chinese government. Look at that buck tooth asshole on the far right. If I was going to fight a PR battle, I would not go to war with that fool.

    U-G-L-Y you ain’t got no alibi…

    Ditto what Jonas said.

  4. Rodney says:

    Everyone know the best looking people are pro-Tibetan independence. Only ugly people would oppose the Dalai Lama.

    As proof, compare Mao Zedong/Jiang Qing and Brad Pitt/Angelina Jolie.

  5. Chou Tofu says:

    @Rodney: By that logic Grace Wang should be hot, but she ain’t. I mean, I would do her, but do anything with a pulse.

Leave a Reply

