Yan Xishan Concedes Defeat

My Dear Readers:

Today you will witness a rare occasion.  Due to an unfavorable battlefield, the internet’s most kick-ass Chinese warlord is forced to concede defeat.  Do not worry, gentle reader, I have not lost Shanxi.  In fact, we recently liberated three villages from the Commies, and also obtained a new payoff from GMD central.  No, this lack of victory is not taking place on the ground here in China, but in the world of internet tubes that connect us across time and space.

You see, about two weeks ago I prepared to enter the annual Chinalyst blog of year competition.  Going in, I felt strongly that this would be my year.  First, as you yourself know, this blog is a truly a place of wonder, where visitors learn about philosophy, history, military strategy, mongering, drinking, and perhaps most importantly, gain insight into the mind of Yan Xishan.  Secondly, I would be entered in the “General Blog” category.  As the only blogger with military experience, I seemed to be a shoo-in.

Alas, my Shanxi supercomputer, which allows me to blog at you from 1941, has had problems interfacing with the Chynalist webpage.  I am unable to edit my entry, which is not displaying my blog entry correctly, nor is it “aggregating my feed” correctly.  BTW, what a wonderful language you have in the “cyber” world.  Later on I am going to get my 7th wife to “aggregate my feed”–let me assure you there will be no interface problems there.

Without the ability to get my entry working correctly, I have decided to bow out of the race with honor (that is, before I can my ass handed to me).  Always remember your Sunzi!

Now, if you are not the type to shy away from lost causes, you can still cast a vote for Yan Xishan here.  But I would like to suggest some other fine blogs to vote for.  As reported here, I will be repeating my endorsement of Beijing Boyce in his run for a second Personal Blog award.  Click here to support this drunken laowai.

More endorsements to follow.

Yan out.

3 Responses to Yan Xishan Concedes Defeat

  1. Neddy says:

    What a shame, what a friggin’ shame! But I am still going to send your way some votes, just to show my appreciation. And I’ll vote for Beijing Boyce, too, since there’s no conflict of interest there.

    I mean, I am also campaigning for ‘Wo Shi Laowai, Wo Pa Shui’, but that’s a general blog. A rare breed he is, one of the few ‘equal opportunity foulmouths’ remaining, and often funny. He needs support; he is on a winning streak right now, but there’s a long way to go yet. Maybe you would like to endorse him, too.

  2. Guan Zhong says:

    I voted for you Yan. Keep fighting the good fight!

  3. Sir,

    Might I suggest “Hong Kong rules” as a solution to this problem?

    You merely need to acquire Chinalyst, edit your entry and award yourself the ceremonial gong. You can then discard the business, or turn it into an offfshore holding company – as you please. Truly win-win, for your Great Self, and for the firm.

    Best of seasonal joss,

Leave a Reply

